• This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Description

Behind its look of the big warlike fortress, La Chartreuse Sainte Croix is the only example of an old monastery being transformed into a charming little village. Just goes to show you can recycle anything.

Silence. We're visiting.
Don't worry, nobody is going to ask you to do penance to get through the door. And you'll see, everything is orderly and beautiful, but without luxury or ornateness. Because the Chartreux Order that occupied the premises for 5 centuries was of the opinion "that you don't need much to be happy". For sure, that in comparison we look like we're overdoing things. But let's get things back in their place. They were all about contemplation. We're all about action.
Today La Chartreuse consists of 44 houses inhabited by people like you and me leading the ordinary lives of ordinary people. Whereas not so long ago (until 1794) La Chartreuse was inhabited by 12 fathers (the monks that just pray) and 15 brothers (the ones who work for the order's subsistence) all them devoted to living pious lives. No contact with the outside, no distractions (not even WiFi). A monk's life, in other words. And, of course, no women. Except a certain Beatrix de la Tour, who founded the site. A worthy ancestor of some of today's exceptional women, who lived and died among all these Men. Respect .
You have to admit the site is pretty magic. From the Fathers' courtyard to the Brothers', from the churches to the old kitchens not to mention the reconstituted retreat of a Chartreux father, La Chartreuse has many treasures to share: wall paintings 14th century church stalls, fortified façade, among other things. Once you've looked round and learned all there is to know about monastic life, you will be allowed to go and taste the magic beverage: the legendary Chartreuse. A green liqueur carefully concocted from 130 different plants, which seriously risks getting you drunk. Literally and figuratively. So, say a little prayer for your salvation and let's return to life outside.

  • Opening period
  • Prices
  • Equipments & Services
  • Location
  • Good deals

• Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.

Description

Derrière ses allures de forteresse guerrière, la chartreuse Sainte Croix est l’unique exemple d’un ancien monastère transformé en un charmant petit village. Comme quoi tout se recycle. Silence. On visite.
Pas d’inquiétude on ne vous demandera pas de faire pénitence pour passer les portes. Et vous verrez, là tout n’est qu’ordre et beauté mais ni luxe, ni volupté. Parce que l’ordre des Chartreux qui a occupé les lieux durant 5 siècles était plutôt du genre «il en faut peu pour être heureux». C’est sur à comparer on a l’air complétement surfait. Mais remettons les choses à leur place. Eux ils étaient dans la contemplation. Nous on est dans l’action.
La chartreuse c’est aujourd’hui 44 maisons habités par des gens comme vous et moi menant la vie ordinaire de gens ordinaires. Alors qu’il n’y a encore pas si longtemps (jusqu’en 1794) la chartreuse c’était 12 pères (ceux qui ne font que prier) et 15 frères (eux ils travaillaient à la subsistance de l’ordre) voués à la piété. Pas de contact avec l’extérieur, pas de distraction (et même pas de wifi). Une vie de moine quoi. Ah oui ,bien sûr, pas de femme. Sauf une Beatrix de la Tour qui fut à l’origine de la fondation du site. La digne ancêtre des figures féminines d’exception d’aujourd’hui qui a su vivre et mourir au milieu de tous ces Hommes. Respect .
Il faut l’avouer le site est assez magique. De la Cour des Pères à celle des Frères, des églises aux anciennes cuisines en passant par l'ermitage reconstitué d'un Père Chartreux, la Chartreuse vous livre ses trésors : peintures murales, stalles du XIVe siècle ou encore façade fortifiée. Une fois que vous aurez fait le tour et que cette vie monacale n’aura plus de secrets pour vous, vous aurez l’autorisation d’aller gouter au breuvage magique : la légendaire chartreuse. Une liqueur verte savamment concoctée à partir de 130 plantes qui risque bien de vous mener sur le chemin de l’ivresse. Au sens propre et au sens figuré. Petite prière pour votre salut et on repart retrouver la vie du dehors.

  • Période d'ouverture
  • Tarifs
  • Services & Equipements
  • Localisation